My take on Get Out

By: Maddie Turner

**I will try not to get too far into the plot so that those of you who have not read it should be safe to continue

There has been a lot of hype recently surrounding the film Get Out, and I would like to politely disagree with the majority of you who loved the film… I appreciate the originality of the movie and  was very excited to see it going in, but I was underwhelmed in so many ways.  To start, I have never been a fan of the horror comedy genre as a whole.  Films like Cabin in the Woods and the Scary Movie franchise have been successful but are too overboard for me.  Get Out was in the same respect combined too many aspects into one movie and tried too hard to be funny, yet scary and at the same time have a strong social commentary about race.  The idea for the film was good and original and the acting was decent, but there was so much buildup throughout that was wasted in the sub-par ending.  I do not want to go into specifics but the unrealistic run at the end disappointing.

Had Peele stuck to the classic horror genre, this film could still have been groundbreaking.  In our last paper I discussed how scary movies have been failing recently and that new ideas have been lagging.  The plot of Get Out, without the comedic elements, could have been one of the few truly scary movies released recently and I wish that Peele had taken that approach instead.  He was so close to creating a truly terrifying movie.

Image result for get out movie

Get Out (2017)

^Me seeing the potential of the film

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My take on Get Out

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think it is interesting that you mention that horror films sometimes try to do too much. I personally do not like horror movies, but the one that truly has stayed with me over the years is Paranormal Activity. I think this is because it wasn’t trying to do too much. It was actually just trying to pretend to be a true haunting story. With this, I don’t think I would enjoy Get Out.

    Katherine Naylor

Leave a Reply

