Watching a Film Alone: Logan

Luke Clellan Dellorso

Do you ever go to see a film by yourself? I sure as heck do and it is great!

loganmovie-205309

Image Courtesy of ComicBook.com

I recently went to see Logan and you are correct… I saw it alone! I personally love to view films by myself, as it is like a little treat to myself. I get to sit in a dark theatre, undistracted by anything but the film. I do not have to worry about anything and can devote my full attention to the film and that is what I did!

In doing so, I discovered how much I loved this film. It was a beautiful story that never once lost my attention. It grabbed me like a death-grip and held me tight until the last credit rolled (even though I did a google search and discovered that there were no after-credits).

One of the characteristics of this film that intrigued me so greatly, was that is humanized fictional characters. While speaking to a friend about the film, I found myself saying this: “Do you ever have the feeling, during and after a superhero film, that everything is going to be okay? That no matter what happens, whether the protagonist dies or not, everything will work itself out? That even then, there is a high chance that the protagonist could return through a form of healing or magic? This film does not do that. It humanizes these protagonists and makes everything feel that much more real.” In addition to the amazing acting by Dafne Keen, Hugh Jackman, and Patrick Stewart (as well as the entire cast) as well as the entrancing storyline, I felt extremely connected to the story. In essence (HERE IS  A SPOILER…LOOK AWAY NOW), Logan and Charles are both suffering from diseases that we, as humans also suffer from. Charles suffers from a degenerative brain disease (Alzheimers) which is extremely dangerous within someone that possesses the type of ability that he does. Logan is finally feeling the effects of the adamantium on his body (the metal that coats his claws and skeleton), as is it essentially poisoning his body and eradicating his ability to regenerate cells. I was sitting in the theatre thinking, “They cannot return from this. This may be the end for them” and it brought me to tears.

The critical review of the film and its staggering box office revenue speak for themselves in terms of the success on both the artistic side of filmmaking as well as the financial. If you have not seen Logan yet, please, do so. It was amazing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Watching a Film Alone: Logan

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I was considering seeing this film this past weekend, since I’ve heard so many amazing things about it. I loved how you touched upon that idea of the immortality of superheroes and just how jarring it is when that turns out to be untrue. I can only imagine how shocking it was to see Logan revealed as turning into the thing we never think of superheroes as: mortal.

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I had a very similar reaction to this film. From the beginning of this film I knew it was different and I think the humanization of the characters is what makes the film so great! This film is truly standout among superhero films for the real emotion and drama it puts in. Also I didn’t go to this film by myself, but have certainly done that before.

    -Walker Rise

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I stopped reading after the the spoiler because I still need to see this, BUT, your post makes me want to go to see it even more because I love how you describe the film as humanizing the characters. It is always hard, especially in a superhero movie, to humanize characters because they literally are not human. We think of superheros as these perfect hybrid people who always come in at the last second and make everything ok, but recently these superheros have become more realistic. They don’t always save the day, or they have their own struggle they have to overcome, which most times I’ve liked (except when Gwen Stacey died at the end the end of the Amazing Spider Man movie, will never get over that).

    -Kendra Thornton

Leave a Reply

