Beauty and the Beast is Magical!

besuty and the beast 1

taken from movies.disney.co.uk

By: Kendra Thornon

After hearing endless praise about this movie, I finally go to see the live action Beauty and the Beast, and I fell in love! When I heard they were doing a live action version of this classic movie I was pretty skeptical, but Emma Watson played such a perfect and charming Belle. And who knew she could sing! I thought she sounded great. I loved Emma Watson as Belle because it must be hard to cast a woman who can convince an audience that she has truly fallen in love with a beast, but I totally bought it. I also loved how Belle seemed like more of a role model and has more agency in this film than in the original. She is an inventor and an avid reader who is genuinely very curious about the world.

I was blown away by Luke Evans’ performance of Gaston. I think that Gaston would usually be a thankless role, but Evans played it so well he might have ended up being my favorite. He was so over the top that I would just laugh at his facial expressions.

gaston

Taken from Telegraph.co.uk

Unfortunately some people, mostly parents, did not feel the same way about this movie. I was looking through reviews online and there were so many parents who had basically posted a warning to other parents about a “gay moment” in the film. So what these parents are referring to is the final scene when everyone is dancing in the ballroom, and for a second two men end up dancing together. Honestly, the scene could not have been more subtle, and it’s sad that this would take away from the brilliance of this movie for some people.

The soundtrack for this movie is also amazing. The two new songs written for the movie are perfect, especially Celine Dion’s new song and Ariana Grande and John Legend’s duet of “Beauty and the Beast”

Whoever has seen this movie, what did you think? Did you like it? I’d love to know! And if you haven’t, go see it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beauty and the Beast is Magical!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I have heard great things about this film and it is sad to me that the biggest complaint against it comes from adults, mainly parents. I looked up some reviews and it is crazy how many have complained about that one scene. Other than that, I cannot wait to see it!
    -Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve heard awesome things about this film, and I can’t wait to go see it. My mom is very conservative, but she didn’t mind the one dancing scene. In fact, she couldn’t believe people were so upset. Her biggest critique was that the two leading men seemed significantly older than Belle. Otherwise, I’ve heard nothing but praise for the film. -Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I haven’t watched the movie yet and I guess I should, but the pictures of Gaston you posted are shockingly similar! I don’t understand the freak out of the gay moment. It’s not like people have never seen any gay movies before, right? Or have they? In a movie where they tell children that homosexual people exist and that is totally normal, is in my opinion exactly what we need at this moment.
    -Kevin

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Kendra! I have to go see this! I have not yet seen it, but I sure am a Disney Baby. My favorite film as a child was “Snow White” and I remember watching “Beauty and the Beast” with my mom and sister at 2 in the morning when I was just a wee lad. I would love to watch them back to back and compare the plot line and what emotions are elicited from both! Also, I love Luke Evans!

    Luke Dellorso

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I have not been able to see the film yet, but I hear great things about it. Its an classic from my childhood, I may have to take the time out of one of these days and watch it.

    -John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

