LOST is losing its magic…already

By. Caitlin Herlihy

When I first started Lost a few weeks ago, I was hooked. Passengers on a flight from Australia crashed on a deserted island? I couldn’t get enough. I love seeing how the survivors cope with the accident and the drama that ensues as certain characters assume leadership roles.

Towards the end of season one, I couldn’t watch the episodes fast enough. One set of survivors build a boat while others uncover a mysterious hatch in the ground. However, now as I approach the end of season two, Lost is losing its allure.

As they’ve added more characters and constructed outrageous storylines, the show is growing increasingly more unrealistic. Now, don’t get me wrong: I didn’t think the show was necessarily realistic beforehand either. But now, the show has grown so much that there are too many loose ends waiting to be wrapped up.

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 11.18.43 AM.png

Lost, Season 2, Episode 10 “The 23rd Psalm”

For example, at the beginning of season one, one of the survivors encounter a polar bear in the forest…on a deserted island… And then in the episode I watched yesterday, one of the characters were attacked by a mysterious black smoke. Other strange things include a “monster” in the forest, a horse sighting, and a computer that requires a code every two hours.

Everyone keeps telling me to “wait and see what happens” because they “promise it all makes sense,” but right now I’m having a hard time enjoying all of the outrageous stories. As of now, I think I’ll finish out season two before I decide whether or not to continue watching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LOST is losing its magic…already

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I felt just like you when I got a few seasons into the show. It starts off so well, but like you said, gets a bit outrageous and unrealistic. It is a very addictive show and I enjoyed watching it, but more as background noise than anything. I would highly suggest at least watching the last season to see how it end–I was not that impressed but it is interesting to see because I was not expecting it at all.
    -Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Same here! I enjoyed season one very much, but season two lost it for me and I stopped. I’ve heard it will become better the following seasons, so I guess I should pick it up some day, It’s been so long that I can’t even remember why I stopped watching :)
    -Kevin

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This show is heavily influenced by the weirdness of Twin Peaks. Part of surrealism is that things suddenly become dream like with no explanation. That being said, it can be pretty goofy at times. If you don’t like a show I wouldn’t feel guilty about stopping at all, that just means you didn’t like it, which is totally fine! I haven’t started Lost and don’t know if I ever will since the ending was spoiled to me.

    – Russell Lawrence

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree that they’ve added more characters and constructed outrageous storylines, the show is growing increasingly more unrealistic. Even though this downgraded the show a little but I continued to finish it because I just had to know how it finished. Overall I enjoyed the series.

    – John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

