Score In Game Of Thrones

By Jordan Hansgen

I just finished catching up on Game of Thrones, the dark fantasy HBO show that has captured audiences everywhere.   One of the best attributes of the show is the music.  The episode I want to focus on is the last episode of season six or the most recent episode.  Spoilers will be given in this so if you haven’t seen the show, watch it first then read this.

In the final episode a lot of conflicts are settled and the biggest is Cersei Lannister against the High Sparrow and the religious cult in King’s Landing.  The episode’s first 15 minutes involve this conflict and also introduces the shows first main piano score “The Light of the Seven”.  The piece is beautiful, yet also puts you on edge.  It is the first piano score that the show had introduced and caught the audience off guard.  It isn’t loud, but it is menacing as many of the main featured characters die in the attack or as a result including the High Sparrow, almost all the Tyrells and King Tommen commits suicide as a result.

The theme improved the already tremendous Game of Thrones score and bolstered the show to new heights leading to this summer’s 7th seasontommen

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Score In Game Of Thrones

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Ramin Djawadi has always been great with his Game of Thrones scores, but I totally agree with you that the first 15 minutes of the latest episode is exceptional. The way it build tension and serves the montage is masterful. I did not enjoy season six at all, but the first 15 minutes of episode ten makes it for me.
    -Kevin

  2. mediaphiles says:

    They do an amazing job with sound on this show, I will agree. From costume to plot to character development to music—Game of Thrones just about gets it all right.

    – Lydia

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely love Game of Thrones. After this finale, I was at a concert and the warm-up band did a remake of the theme song and the crowd went nuts. I love everything about the soundtrack, but especially the title song.
    -Katherine Naylor

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Jordan! So first, I have to say that I am a DIE HARD GAME OF THRONES FAN! I could talk about it for hours! With that being said, you are absolutely correct! The score does truly help to guide you on where your feelings should be moving. I personally would like to listen to the music again, in the parts where I thought everything was going to be okay, but it certainly was not!

    Luke Dellorso

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I curious to know whats all the hype about with this show. I have never seen a single episode, I may have to check it out in the near future.

    – John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

