RiverRun is Coming!

By: Shelby Halliman

Calling all filmmakers, film critics, film enthusiasts, etc. RiverRun starts this Friday and I encourage you all to buy your tickets now!

Official Poster for the RiverRun International Film Festival 2017

The RiverRun International Film Festival has been a part of Winston-Salem history since 1998. The festival contains a wide variety of films and panels, so there are many events that are guaranteed to capture your eye. This is a place where international, student, and independent filmmakers are able to come together and exchange their own ideas with one another. Everything is centered around UNCSA, which is downtown. All of the events are very close together and are, oftentimes, connected with one another. If you miss a day, do not fear! RiverRun is two weeks long and has multiple showings, so there are plenty of opportunities to go to an event. It is very exciting to have such a prominent film festival so close because its location exposes people not only to the film festival, but to the cultural expression that resides within Winston-Salem. I would recommend going to the RiverRun Website and learning more about the different events. There is also a schedule that tells you all the movies that will be shown on a certain day. Featuring a plethora of films, documentaries, narratives, animation, and more will be featured at the festival. Here is a link to a few of the videos featured at RiverRun for this year:

http://riverrunfilm.com/check-2017-clip-reel/

There are also trailers for the different films that will be shown at RiverRun. I recommend viewing the trailers before making your selection due to the fact that there are multiple series featured in each category. For instance, narrative films will be shown as a collective. This means that there will be a group of short films shown in the narrative category within an hour and a half span. The narrative films category is broke up into two series, so the first series is one week and the second series will be featured the following week.

Poster featured by the RiverRun International Film Festival

Again, I would highly recommend buying your tickets ASAP. I know that some of the events are free, but, if you need anymore information, please go to their website. There is a lot of very cool stuff featured on their website, so it is very easy to get lost in everything that is going on.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to RiverRun is Coming!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Wow, I had no idea that this is coming up so fast! I have never been to a film festival and have always wanted to, so I have no excuse not to go this year. I am very excited to see what the vibes are like and the kid of people that come as well as hopefully finding a truly great film before it is widely known!

    -Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve been interested in RiverRun every year, but I always forget to buy tickets. So thank you for the reminder! As a senior, I need to make a point to check it out this year. I wonder how often these films become widely known? Or do they always remain fairly obscure? (Obscure may not be the right word, but they remain unknown.) It seems like such a fun event, and it’s cool that it is based in Winston-Salem. -Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never heard of RiverRun, but I think it’s fantastic W-S has a showcase of filmmakers! I think it’s important to attend and appreciate artistic displays like this.

    -Meg Schmit

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Thank you for the reminder! I checked that The Lost City of Z, which I’ve heard good things about, will be shown on this festival! But the tickets have already sold out. I’ll check if there are other movies and events that I’ll want to go. Thank you again!!!
    -Kevin

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I can’t wait for RiverRun! I attended the launch party of the Festival and I got to see snippets of trailers for all the films they’re showing and they look great! I’ve never attended a Film Festival before and I am so excited to finally get a chance to experience one.

    – Cal

  6. mediaphiles says:

    Thank you for the reminder!! I am really excited to watch some of the films this year. How lucky are we that it is so close to campus!
    -Katherine Naylor

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I’m volunteering at the festival this year! If you go see films maybe I’ll be taking your tickets!!!!

    – Russell Lawrence

  8. mediaphiles says:

    Thanks so much for sharing, I had no idea this even existed until now! Will have to check it out!

    -Kendra

Leave a Reply

