The End of Girls

girls

Girls, the series on HBO, is coming to an end after six seasons. Girls is a show that I often hear of people absolutely loving or hating, and there is not usually an in between. When first looking into some of the critics of the show, an interesting article I found was in the NY Times. The article mentions how Girls is so genius because people don’t like it. Lena Dunham, the creator and star of the show, explores many complicated issues pertaining to personality and behavior through the Character Hannah. The show is so “transparent” and that was the first aspect of the show that struck me as a female viewer. There are many instances when I first started watching the show where I felt myself questioning the show. What I came to recognize was that it was in these very moments when viewers claim to not like the show that Girls is doing exactly what it set out to do. I think this is another reason that I would categorize this show as a success – regardless of these feelings the show often permits, I like many other continued watching. You also start to feel for the characters and although you may not be able to resonate with their life choices or events, I often found myself trying to understand in some dimension the choices of the characters. These same choices and transparency is the reason for many of the critiques, especially those surrounding feminism.

I think what Girls did for a series was different and unique in comparison to what has been done in the past and a series that I think was successful in that Lena could create and write a show the way she wanted it to be written and viewed by the audience. The transparency and issues that you don’t want to like as a viewer is exactly the reason that I continued to watch the show and was addressed in the article. The show’s ability to make you uncomfortable yet also bring you in as a viewer was something I was attracted to in the show.

 

Catherine Maier

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The End of Girls

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve also heard the polarizing effect of this show, though because I’ve never seen it, I wish there’d been a brief summary of the show’s concept! I’ve heard enough about it, though, that I’m intrigued to potentially watch it.

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I am also a big fan of Girls. I think a great thing about this show is, as you mention, it’s ability to make you so uncomfortable that you don’t know what to think…but, regardless, you’re intrigued. This season, so far, has been quite different from the others and I’m really interested to see how they tie the series together in the end!

    – Lydia Geisel

Leave a Reply

