The Truth Behind Texas Football

By: Dez Wortham

friday-night-lights-20041007023524022-000Friday I decided to watch Friday Night Lights, one of my favorite sports movies. This movie hits home for me for a few reasons. The first reason being that I am a Texas native so anything about Texas high school football automatically gets my attention. This movie portrays a lifestyle that many don’t believe it to be true, but it is oh so real. In some of the smaller towns, the entire town shuts down on Friday nights just as the movie portrays.

Another Reason why this movie is a personal favorite is the Boobie Miles story. If you haven’t seen the movie, Boobie is the star player on the team and has scholarship offers from all over the country. Mid-way through his amazing senior year Boobie blows his knee out, and loses all of his scholarships. Boobie is never able to play again and doesn’t know what to fall back on because the only thing he did and cared about in life was football. This blowing his knee out and losing scholarships is all too familiar since I too faced a potentially career ending injury my senior year.

The great thing about his movie though is that when Boobie goes down the team doesn’t fall apart but yet they grow closer and even get better. The guys step up and start taking on bigger roles. For someone who respects what team sports does for personality and confidence this movie is it. Despite this movie being based on a true story the bond and brotherhood makes you see the greatness in sports. If anyone thinks that the show does justice about Texas high school football you are very mistaken. To truly understand Texas high school football and why it is in a category of its own, you must watch the movie rather than the show.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Truth Behind Texas Football

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I definitely need to watch this movie, as you and so many others have said! I have only watched the show, and was very intrigued by how high school football really brought the whole town together. It seems like a crazy thought, since I am from Baltimore and high school sports do not hold that big of an importance, but I wish that we were more into football as well. It is also interesting to see how closely you relate to the film and it is so impressive that you bounced back after your injury!

    -Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Although I haven’t seen this movie, I share your love for Texas high school football! I am originally from Houston, and I grew up going to my brother’s football games. The stadiums were huge, the bands were extravagant, and everyone attended. I need to watch this film! -Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I having been meaning to watch this film for some time. I played football in High School, and while I’m sure it was nothing like it is in Texas, I still have a love for the sport and team mentality, and would love to view this film.

    -Walker Rise

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Friday Night Lights is one of the movies I’ve reached double digits on the number of times I’ve watched it, all of those being in high school. I loved this movie and the amount of emotional involvement you get from it. Although I’ve never played football, I still understand the conflicts the characters go through, a lot of them being outside of school, especially in this city in Texas. Boobie Miles is still one of my favorite sports movie characters, mainly due to the tragic arc his character experiences in the film, and the way the actor portrays this character is really well done.

    – Cal

  5. mediaphiles says:

    Friday Night Lights is a terrific sports movie because of how it is about more than sports. I definitely recommend it as a book, film or even the TV show also has merit.
    -Jordan Hansgen

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I agree, Friday Night Lights is a movie that gives a realistic glimpse of Texas football. I, too, am a Texas native so I understand the importance of football in a high school setting. My brother played football and also had a potential career-ending injury. Being immersed in that experience, is something else entirely once you live in it.

    -Shelby Halliman

  7. mediaphiles says:

    Dez, thank you so much for your commentary on “Friday Night Lights!” With soccer, at my high school, we had a few games, where it felt like everyone in the school was in attendance and the atmosphere was unreal. Our football games were the same every game but I specifically remember the challenges that we faced with soccer: if something wasn’t working the way that we had planned. The questions of “how do we step up?” and “what can we do differently?” come into play and that the only way to answer those questions, was to band together and not fall apart.

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I have to admit this is one of my favorite football films of all time. The movie describes the things that happen to athletes all the time in real life. The one thing that was unique in this film is the fact that the main team of the film lost the championship game. Usually the main team always win in the end, but here the outcome was unexpected.

    – John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

