Welcome to Moulin Rouge!

Moulin-Rouge-Movie-Poster.jpgBy: Katherine Naylor

Hands down, one of my favorite films of all time is Moulin Rouge! directed by Baz Luhrmann starring Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. I decided to rewatch the Academy Award winning film and try to pin point exactly what has always drawn me back to the film. I realized it is the theme of love, the soundtrack and the editing that has made me a forever fan of the colorful film.

Love:  Many films, literature, television, and music are based on love stories. Moulin Rouge! however, explains the power of love: that at the end of the day, all you need is love. Christian, a penniless writer convinces Satine, a dancer and prostitute, that they are meant for one another. Christian doesn’t care about Satine’s past, and the danger their love could bring. Satine doesn’t mind that Christian doesn’t have any money. Their love can make it through anything. However, in a fatal ending, the one thing that prevents their love pulls them apart forever: death. The film paints a beautiful love story that is memorable, tragic and beautiful.

Soundtrack: The soundtrack of the film reflects the memorable, tragic and beautiful love story. Below you will see the song “Elephant Love Medley” that combines many different songs together in order to encompass the many difficulties and thrills within love. The soundtrack also includes a couple original sounds.

 Editing: The scene above also shows the dynamic use of angles, shots, cuts and effects used in the film. The quick, jumpy editing of the film reflects the rollercoaster of love that Satine and Christian decent upon once meeting each other. It portrays that crazy life that Satine must leave as the star of Moulin Rouge, the bright then horrible sad life of Christian, and the joy that their love brings to the film.

I now go back to the film’s soundtrack when I need a “pick me up” and studying the films editing when I need inspiration. If you want to know any more fun facts about the film check out this cool Buzzfeed article.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to Moulin Rouge!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Baz Luhrmann’s unique directorial style always draws many faces to his films. His bombastic, colorful imagery is appealing to many audiences and I am really impressed with this artistic ability. I really enjoyed his version of The Great Gatsby and I am a Ewan McGregor fan so I think I’ll definitely watch this movie at some point.

    – Cal

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I really enjoy Baz Luhrmann’s work. He is very formalistic, which is a style that I have grown to be very fond of. I remember last year, when my class watched Moulin Rouge, “Roxanne” was stuck in everyone’s head for the rest of the year. It is such a fun movie!

    -Shelby Halliman

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I have not seen this movie yet but I know I have to soon because it’s so many peoples’ favorite movie. Even from the short clip you gave I can see why it is so loved. The song and staging is really brilliant. Can’t wait to watch it all!

    -Kendra

Leave a Reply

