I Finally Saw “The Ring”

By: Kendra Thornton

Theringpostere

I am not a fan of horror/scary movies at all, so this weekend was a big step for me because I watched “The Ring” for the first time. Aside from the pretty terrible acting, I actually really liked this film. I have always thought that the only point of scary movies were to have things jump out and you and to look as horrifying as possible, but I found myself completely hooked on “The Ring’s” plot because it’s almost like this crazy psychological puzzle/mystery. This film skips the gore and blood aspect of horror movies and tugs at your subconscious. The main source of suspense (besides the fact that Rachel has seven days to figure out how to keep her and herself and her son alive) is the unknown. The biggest question that Rachel asks is “why?” as in, why does this tape exist? Why was it in this specific cabin? Why seven days? The film does a great job at setting up these mysteries and then putting all the pieces together at the end.

Yes, can we talk about the ending? I genuinely believed that everything was OK and that the mystery was solved, but maybe that’s because I have little experience with scary movies. It’s one of those twists that you hate to see because it strips away all hope, but at the same time it was so out of left field that you have to appreciate it.

 

Side note: “Scary Movie 3”  is a hilarious parody of classic horror films like “The Ring” and a couple others that I highly recommend watching because it does an amazing job at making fun of these films. It is also a lot funnier if you watch it after already seeing the original movie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Finally Saw “The Ring”

  1. mediaphiles says:

    The Ring is definitely a classic horror film from my childhood! It is not necessarily scary like you said, but I liked it more because it did not have all of the unnecessary bloody, violent scenes that many other movies with a weak plot rely on. A new movie, Rings, is coming out this year and is supposed to be related to the last one so I am excited to see what take the new one has.
    -Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Although I haven’t seen The Ring, I’ve seen other scary movies. I can’t say they’re my favorite! I went through a BRIEF period in high school when I was obsessed with these suspenseful films. Now, however, I can’t relax when I watch them, making scary movies harder to enjoy. I used to really love the Saw movies because they were thought provoking in a weird, twisted way. -Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I really want to watch this film, but like you, horror films truly, deeply terrify me! Thank you for explaining the other parts of the film though, it is making me rethink my decision.

    Katherine

  4. mediaphiles says:

    So i saw this film a very very long time ago and was not impressed with it enough to ever watch it again. It is one of those horror movies where i do more laughing and scratching head than actually jumping in my shoes.
    -Dez

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I have never seen this film, but it seem interesting, especially if it is anything near the scary movie films. I enjoy those film a lot, I’ll have to check it out soon.

    – John Armstrong

  6. mediaphiles says:

    Kendra! This is your first time watching this! I remember sneakily watching this when I was in Middle School! I think I am pretty tough, but this film scared the living poop out of me! The second that the TV stuff started happening, I freaked out! You have to see the sequels as well!

    Luke Dellorso

  7. mediaphiles says:

    The original Japanese one is so famous among Chinese students. I grew up hearing about it, from primary school all the way to high school. I suppose it has become a campus cult movie, or something close. Though I have never seen any from the franchise! From your description I think it is an okay film. I should try it out!
    -Kevin

Leave a Reply

