Why 13 Reasons Why is so Great

By: Maddie Turner

Image result for thirteen reasons

“Tape One, Side A” (Season 1, Episode 1, 2017).

There are far more than thirteen reasons why the new Netflix series, 13 Reasons Why, is so good; however, I am going to narrow it down a bit and focus on some of the aspects that impressed me and drew me in the most.

***SPOILERS

  1. The basic premise of the show involves tapes left behind after a suicide.  The main character, Clay, listens to the thirteen tapes that explain what led up to Hannah’s eventual suicide–she talks about each person and event that are involved and explains her reasons for doing so.  Something that really stands out during this is that the story is a mix of the present and past, so as the tapes progress, we see the aftermath of her death intertwined with her story that unfolds in the tapes.
  2. The series involves many difficult societal issues including sexual assault, bullying, bisexuality, pressure and mental health problems.  While there have been many films and especially television shows, that include these things, they often seem like too much and unrealistic.  Thirteen Reasons Why though beautifully executes these.  There is true pain and personality in each of the characters which enhances the story and is completely sad yes addicting to watch.
  3. This is perhaps one of the easiest shows to binge-watch that I have ever seen. The entire time you are rooting for Hannah and hoping that she gets a break, but knowing how the last episode will end ahead of time makes you dread finishing the first season.  Right now I only have three episodes left and I am already rooting for a second season (which may be unlikely since this is based off of a book).
  4. The cast is also noteworthy.  I did not recognize any of the actors except for Kate Walsh who plays Mrs. Baker.  There was real passion in each of them and you cannot help but to get wrapped up in their stories.

To anyone who still is not convinced to watch this show, I would highly urge you to give it a chance!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why 13 Reasons Why is so Great

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I haven’t yet started the series, but I plan on it – I was a huge fan of the book when it came out. I’ve been waiting for it to come to screen. As a book, it was painfully heartbreaking and real, and it sounds like that may have translated in the show. I hope it doesn’t disappoint, and that the characters capture the depth in the novel!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I read Thirteen Reasons Why so long ago, so I am really looking forward to watching this series! The book is heart-wrenching, but touches on important themes for young readers. I wonder if they will make another season? As much as I’d like it, I don’t want to ruin a good thing! -Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I saw this series pop up on Netflix this week and was debating whether to watch bit it seems like a show I would be highly interested in. Thank you for the review!
    Katherine

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I’m excited to hear that you like this show. I truly know nothing about the story, but I saw just a few days ago an article on how many parents are really upset with Netflix for airing the show. Suicide is a sensitive subject, I suppose people are worried about what it might be saying to younger audiences. But, as always, I think that subjects like this shouldn’t be ignored and if a movie/tv show deals with things in the right way, they can be super compelling!

    -Lydia

  5. mediaphiles says:

    well since i am coming up on my last season of the Blacklist i will probably need something new to watch after this weekend. From your description it seems to be quite interesting.
    -Dez

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I have heard about this show literally yesterday!! But was not motivated enough to start it, but after reading your blog piece I may check this out really soon.

    – John Armstrong

  7. marymdalton says:

    This is on my list to watch!

Leave a Reply

