My Thoughts on Arrested Development

By: Maddie Turner

Image result for arrested development screenshots

“Pilot” (Season 1, Episode 1, 2003).

To be honest I have not heard much about the television series Arrested Development, I but figured with a solid cast including, Jason Bateman, Portia de Rossi, Will Arnett and Michael Cera, that it would be worth a try.  I am a few episodes in and cannot seem to get into it though.  At times it is funny and the humor is light which usually works in sitcoms, but something about this show is a bit too much for me.

To start with, the story line jumps all over the place.  There seems to be a new problem every episode and many things that are overdone, like the relationship between Lindsay and Tobias, which is constantly in jeopardy, as well as the company that is almost lost throughout the series.  Also, most of the cast is insanely greedy and really only seem to care about themselves.  They have their funny moments, but overall they bring many problems upon themselves and it gets old after just a few episodes, and from what this article says, it continues throughout the series.

The acting is decent for the most part so far, but the dynamics between some of the family is unbelievable at times.  I understand using the youngest son, Buster, for the brunt of the jokes, but it seems as though it is for the same reason every time and it gets old after awhile.

Overall the show is just something that I am watching until something better comes along.  It is not bad background noise, but as for a television sitcom, it does not begin to compare to The Office or Parks and Recreation at all.  I have read and heard that if you do not understand the references of this so called meta-comedy, then you will not enjoy the show.  I however, understand and pick up on the majority of them and just cannot seem to appreciate it as many others do.

If you have watched this show and have an opinion on it, I would love to hear it!  I may be way off base here and maybe I have not given it a fair shot, but that seems pretty unlikely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Thoughts on Arrested Development

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I like Arrested Development. It is like they are so awkward that’s funny. It’s annoying how the Netflix series kind of just left it after all of those years of waiting. Because of this, you are left empty-handed and asking questions. It makes me sad.

    -Shelby Halliman

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Maddie, thank you very much for your comments! I began to watch the pilot season last summer, but I had not finished it. I would be interested in finishing it and then going back and reading your article to see where my position falls! I have also not watched “Parks and Recreation” yet and you are pushing me even further to watch it!

    -Luke Dellorso

  3. marymdalton says:

    Check out Max Dosser’s chapter: fu.tizrapublisher.com/critical-media-studies-sitcoms/14

Leave a Reply

