Shows Mark Seasons of Our Lives

By Caitlin Herlihy

Okay, the title sounded more dramatic than I meant for it to. What I mean is, isn’t it funny how we associate different phases of our lives with whatever show we were binge watching at the time? Or is that just me?

There are times in my life when I don’t watch any television at all, but then just a few months later I’m glued to the TV. For example, this semester I’ve conquered nine- yes, nine!- seasons of Grey’s Anatomy. That is a lot of television watching for a girl like me. Last spring, however, I wasn’t watching anything other than what was required by class.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 3.16.27 PM.png

Jane the Virgin, Season 1, Episode 1 “The Pilot”

But certain events or phases are marked by different shows I was watching during that phase. For example, last summer I lived in Charleston and watched New Girl every chance I got. Last semester I was studying for the LSAT and watched Jane the Virgin between practice tests. I remember the summer before last, I watched Parks and Recreation after work every single afternoon.

I wonder what draws us to certain television shows at certain times during our lives. Do you associate a time in your life with certain shows? I’ll always remember my senior spring semester as the time I obsessed over Grey’s Anatomy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shows Mark Seasons of Our Lives

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This is so interesting to think about! For me, when I am stressed with schoolwork I choose a more lighthearted, quick show so that I can enjoy it an not think about it too much. When I have more time though, I tend to watch the 40 minute shows with a thick story line that requires you to pay attention more.

    –Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    This is so true! I feel like I can remember all the way back to when I was in middle school what shows I was watching and when! I think it’s also interesting to try and remember when we returned to a certain series and why….what in our life calls us to watch a particular show?

    – Lydia

Leave a Reply

