This is a great show!

By: Shelby Halliman

Since we are talking about sitcoms this week, I thought I would suggest one to anyone who is interested in a new addiction…

Official Poster of BoJack Horseman

BoJack Horseman is absolutely amazing! This Netflix original is an illustrious social commentary that address different situations such as fame, love, depression, and a lot more. It does not sugarcoat these types of sensitive topics. Instead, BoJack Horseman exposes the truth behind it all in a very funny and unique way. There are not always happy endings, which makes it realistic. Furthermore, the audience is able to see progression and regression of the show’s main protagonist. Not always will BoJack learn his lesson and that’s okay because he is human. Well, not exactly…

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/bojack-horseman-mental-illness

The article above explains a little bit about the creator’s process behind creating BoJack Horseman. It is quite an interesting article because the creator,  Raphael Bob-Waksberg, answers as if he does not know which direction BoJack will go either. This highlights Bojack’s complexities because he is still a work in progress. The creator does not cater to those who disagree with his methods. He actually tries to understand the show’s faults and acknowledges that it is not everyone’s cup of tea, but, for those who do stick around, he is appreciative and admits that he is still trying to figure out BoJack as well. Here is a trailer, if and only if, this post has peaked your interest:

It is a strange trailer right? I know. Animal-people running around dealing with everyday social problems can be shocking to some people, but that is honestly what makes the show unique. This show makes you question everything and challenge yourself. It is a dark comedy that sheds light on the issues of society. Instead of glorifying sensitive subjects, the show tells its audience that an unrealistically happy ending of a thirty minute episode is unacceptable and is, quite frankly, ridiculous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This is a great show!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I have a friend who has tried to get me to watch this show, but I’ve yet to give in. I’ll admit, I was basing my choice purely on the aesthetic; I’m not a huge animated fan. However, I like that the cheery animated style contrasts with the darker themes explored in the show.

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    It’s funny that you write about Bojack Horseman this week. I wrote about Curb Your Enthusiasm, and from just the looks of the trailer the Bojack seem so similar to Larry David, who has many faux pas and consistently finds problems with certain social conventions and expectations.

    -Lydia

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Shelby, thank you so much for your comments! I actually began “Bojack Horseman” a few years ago, but did not watch it enough. I am very intrigued and strongly considering delving back into it. I did love the point that the creator does not know exactly where Bojack will go, which leaves a really cool door open for him and the show!

    -Luke Dellorso

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Ha! I saw it’s pictures all the time. I believe once I was asked in this class if I had seen it. I guess I should! The trailer looks very interesting. I love the out of box shows!
    -Kevin Yu

  5. marymdalton says:

    Check out Kevin Pabst’s chapter in the volume Student Essays on Contemporary Sitcoms: .tizrapublisher.com/critical-media-studies-sitcoms/166

Leave a Reply

