What are You Excited For? The Film Year To Come & A Reflection On The Greatest Film Years Of All Time!

Luke Clellan Dellorso

greatest-movies-of-all-time-4

Image Courtesy of Idolosol.com

I recently took a stroll through a listing of the upcoming films for 2018 and had an absolute jump of joy as a result of what I saw. Take a look.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas– Benedict Cumberpatch

Ocean’s Eight– Rihanna, Anne Hathaway, Sandra Bullock, Cate Blanchett

The Incredibles 2– Samuel L. Jackson, Holly Hunter

Deadpool 2– Ryan Reynolds

Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them 2– Jude Law, Alison Sudol, Eddie Redmayne

These are just a few of the films that will be premiering in the year of 2018. It seems like 2018 is a year that will be featuring a great number of films that we have been waiting for, for a long time. I cannot even describe how long I have wanted to see what happened to baby Jack-Jack after The Incredibles and how excited I am to see How the Grinch Stole Christmas star Benedict Cumberpatch. These films also cover a wide array of film categories and genres and thus will be an amazing year!

While doing this, I was inspired to look back and see what the most popular years of film have been throughout history, and this is what I found.

#10. 1976 (Rocky & Taxi Driver)

#9. 1967 (The Graduate & In the Heat of the Night)

#8. 1985 (Out of Africa & Back to the Future)

#7. 1941 (How Green Was My Valley & The Maltese Falcon)

#6. 1962 (Lawrence of Arabia & To Kill A Mockingbird)

#5. 1982 (Ghandi & E.T. The Extra Terrestrial)

#4. 1999 (American Beauty & Fight Club)

#3. 1977 (Close Encounters of the Third Kind & Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope)

#2. 1939 (Of Mice and Men & The Wizard of Oz)

#1. 1994 (Forest Gump & Pulp Fiction)

What do you think was the greatest year in history? I am very curious to see if we will have one that will break this list in the coming years, as none of Watch Mojo’s years were after the turn of the millennium.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What are You Excited For? The Film Year To Come & A Reflection On The Greatest Film Years Of All Time!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This is a very interesting debate. I do agree that it is probably between 1994 and 1939, but it is interesting that no year after 2000 made their list. As we get farther into the new millennium, I image more years will begin to be considered.

    -Walker Rise

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have to admit I am excited to see the new films that are coming out in 2018.. I agree I mean who does not want to see what happened to baby Jack-Jack after The Incredibles. I am also surprised at the fact that no year in the 2000s has made it in the most popular film years. Maybe they need to update their list and ask for more opinions.

    – John Armstrong

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I’m excited for the films we have coming in the future, despite what I’ve said in these blogs about nostalgia and remakes and things like that. I love the MCU so I’m always looking forward to those, and I follow a lot of directors working today and what they’ll be releasing, like Martin Scorsese’s The Irishman coming out on Netflix, with Robert De Niro and Al Pachino. A lot of critics and people regard the 70s as the best decade in film Hollywood has ever had. It’s where we got the birth of the modern blockbuster with Jaws, Indiana Jones and Star Wars, and some of the best films in Hollywood history like Taxi Driver and The Godfather.
    -Cal

Leave a Reply

